Pilgrimage On Shikoku Island

Online forum for discussions related to the 88 temple pilgrimage on Shikoku, Japan.

First time walker

Shikoku Henro Trail
    Admin

First time walker

Post by Shikoku Henro Trail on Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:37 am

Originally posted by several members in 2012 and 2013.
    -----

nlpilgrim

« Thread started on: May 22nd, 2012, 07:24am »
    Hi all,

I'm a dutch student planning to walk the trail in late july/august/september 2013 (depends on study).
    I've been facinated by the trail for a while now, and i think it would be a great experience.
    I got the route book and been studying the trail and resting spots etc, but the thing that is troubling me is the weight of the pack i'll be carying.
    Ill be 22 when walking and im physicaly very fit, however carrying a tent, sleeping bag and matras in a big pack would result in a steady 7/8kg.
    And thats even without clothes and supplies.

Would you recommend trusting on the availability of shelters, thus leaving the tent. Or do you guys have any other tips about keeping the weight down?

With kind regards,

nlpilgrim

=====

dukkha

« Reply #1 on: May 23rd, 2012, 03:40am »
    My son is doing Nojuku henro right now. He has a 50 litre pack, small tent, etc. I think they are doing a mixture of camping, shelters etc. All going well at this stage. I walked it staying at minshuku, and saw enough huts and places I could have slept, not to mention offers from locals to stay in their spare rooms, sheds etc.

Like any first time henro he probably has too much stuff, and will get rid of excess equipment along the way as he realises the bare minimum to exist day by day. He'll be back late July, so feel free to email me with any questions then and my son might have some fresh answers for you.

dukkha
    maemuki@live.com

=====

WillyM

« Reply #2 on: May 26th, 2012, 5:26pm »
    Hello nlpilgrim,

I just walked the henro trail and finished it on 21 of may